Creating Stunning Dashboards with QlikView

It’s been a while since the last time I shared a post here, but believe me, I have a great excuse! Over the last few weeks, I’ve been working very hard with the guys from Packt Publishing on a book that covers two of my favorite topics: dashboards and data visualization. So, without further ado, I gladly present you “Creating Stunning Dashboards with QlikView”.

Cover

This tome guides you through the process of creating effective and engaging dashboards that deliver tangible value to the business. Throughout its chapters, you will learn how to apply some of the best practices in the field of data visualization, create a robust navigation schema, work with colors, choose the best chart types for each scenario and many other things that will help you create useful applications that will uncover all the stories behind your data.

Though you might think that this is the average “do this, do that” handbook, this publication was written much like my blog; it contains technical stuff, best practices, opinions, tutorials and even some humor. However, this time I had an amazing group of people that helped me out: Larissa Pinto, Priyanka Mehta, Shruti Iyer and Parag Topre from Packt; Hakan Hansson, Speros Kokenes, Mark O’Donovan and Karl Pover in charge of the technical review and QlikView All-Star Bill Lay who was kind enough to write the foreword.

PACKT LogoAmazon LogoBarnes Noble Logo

 

If you want to know more about this book, go to its section in this site (you didn’t know there were other pages in this blog right? Surprise!!!). Although Amazon usually delivers faster, I prefer Packt because you have immediate access to the digital version in multiple formats*

Subpages

I really like the end result, and I hope you find it useful and have a good time reading it, so be sure to check it out. Also, don’t forget to share your thoughts about it, I’ll be looking forward to hearing your feedback!

Hope to see you around,

Julian Villafuerte

21 thoughts on “Creating Stunning Dashboards with QlikView

  1. Priyanka Mehta says:

    Thank you Julian!
    It was awesome working with an Author like you who has so much of expertise in this field and also has a way with words.
    Your way of presenting complex things in the simplest way is what makes this book more special.

    Trust me guys, you should definitely refer to this practical guide if you want to “Create Stunning dashboards with Qlikview”.

  2. Good luck with the book sales Julian.

    It was a pleasure to be part of the Technical Review for ‘Creating Stunning Dashboards with QlikView’.

    I have all already been some of the useful tips & tricks from this book in my day-to-day work.

    Thanks

    Mark.
    http://techstuffy.tv

  3. Satish Kurra says:

    This is really a great book. I purchased a copy and going through it. I recommend for any qlikview developer…

    Wish you all the best for your Sales…

  4. Rudi Klein says:

    Just bought your book and I LOVE IT. I feel that the ‘looks’ are often underestimated. Yes, I know mirrors & beats don’t help if your information is bad, but the way your app visual design is evenly important.

    What’s your next book about 🙂

    • Thanks a lot Rudi, it’s good to hear that you liked it! Currently, I’m not working in other books, but who knows, maybe later this year 😛

  5. Sandeep says:

    Hi Julian, I bought “Creating Stunning Dashboards with QlikView (Hardcopy)” on Amazon.in, but there are no exercise files on the Packtpub support page. Please assist.

  6. sandeepbabus says:

    Hi Julian,

    I am unable to open exercise file (QVW documents) and I see the below error message while I was trying to open both the student and solution documents:

    “Your installation of QlikView has exceeded the maximum number of documents recoveries allowed for a Personal Edition license. To continue using QlikView you will need to purchase a full QlikView license. Please contact your local QlikView sales office, a list of which can be found at http://www.qlikview.com

    I have even uninstalled and re-installed my QlikView application on personal laptop, but still the problem persists.

    Can you please help me to get rid of this problem.

    Awaiting your update.

    • Hi, this problem can only be solved by getting a QlikView licencias (either a Local License or leasing it form a QlikView Server). Unfortunately, if you don’t have a valid licence you won’t be able to open any files created on other computers 😦

      • sandeepbabus says:

        Hi Julian, Is there any document that explains more about data modeling for every kind of LOB (Insurance, banking, retail, non-profit organizations, electronics, IT, etc.) ?

        Note: Please don’t suggest me with Ralph Kimball’s book.

        Something that explains more about data modeling and that goes with QlikView….?

        Awaiting your update.

  7. Steve Dark says:

    Regarding the Personal Edition not being able to open files, Barry and Miguel were able to get their example files unlocked for the book QV114D. Have you approached Qlik to see if the same can happen with yours?

    • sandeepbabus says:

      No Steve, I haven’t approached Qlik. You have mentioned QV114D, are these exercise files pertain to the book Creating Stunning Dashboards with QlikView ? Also, please me know the exact Qlik team or their email id, so that I can contact them and resolve my issue.

      • Steve Dark says:

        Sorry Sandeep, that comment was directed at Julian – he will need to get the permission for making his files PE Enabled. QV114D is a completely different book – with less of a focus on visualisation.

  8. sandeepbabus says:

    Hi Julian, I have tried to open the exercise files of other qlikview books like “QlikView 11 for Developers” and I haven’t faced any problem with the exercise files of this book and I am able to reopen these files multiple times, but not the files of your books “Creating Stunning Dashboards with QlikView”. I am sorry to say this, it will be of no use of the book, if I cannot open the exercise files. Can you please provide me with the exercise files that have unlimited reopen (life) option. Making files of this kind available for people at large will really beneficial.

    Awaiting your update.

Leave a Reply

